Why I'm proud to live in North Carolina

by CarlD

Can’t talk – choked up a little bit –

I want to be friends with “Big Head” and “Ten Gauge!” Oh, and Hispanic people too!

Here, the pretty boy explains. Please distinguish between ‘racial’ and ‘racist’! Someone’s been to college!

I love popular culture.

[Update:] Wait a minute, something’s wrong! Jimi’s key won’t unlock that door! No worries, maybe Ten Gauge has a sister.

10 Responses to “Why I'm proud to live in North Carolina”

  1. “Little treasures” indeed. I especially like David Foster Wallace’s about the fish: There are these two young fish swimming along and they happen to meet an older fish swimming the other way, who nods at them and says “Morning, boys. How’s the water?” And the two young fish swim on for a bit, and then eventually one of them looks over at the other and goes “What the hell is water?” Reminds me of Kant’s swallow, imagining how much more freely it could fly without the resistance of the air against its wings.

  2. When the woman is shown saying “I’m a black woman, and I love the Red House” with the framed zebra print prominently displayed next to her…I just about died laughing.

  3. And giraffes! Don’t forget the giraffes!

    I’m ashamed to admit that I found the concept of pumping furniture into people’s homes a little creepy, but when Ten Gauge held his hands apart in the universal symbol for ‘bonehead’ I knew that they would indeed extend credit to all people.

  4. That’s awesome. I’m going to have the hook in my head all day. “At the Red House….” Someone needs to do a remix.

  5. Rachel and I have been remixing around the house at the top of our lungs, mostly by changing up columns A and B:

    “At the Red House! Where left-handed people and right-handed people buy furniture!”

    “At the Red House! Where IRS agents and tax evaders buy furniture!”

    “At the Red House! Where Stalinists and Trotskyites buy furniture!”

    They’ve really hit on something here. The possibilities are endless.

  6. It’s marvelous!!! I am laughing!!!

  7. Yeah, I’m about to head back to NC soon, and, I have to say, that ad made me think, ‘I am returning to a rather excellent place.’

  8. Saleem, you’ll be most welcome back in NC, and especially at the Red House, where you too can buy furniture!

    I’d love to see what Rhett and Link would do with the Rule of 17 Fights….

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply!

