Male dominance

by CarlD

I’m watching the Olympic women’s marathon, and the leader (a Romanian in her late 30s) is running mile splits under 5′ 30″.

I have a personal basis of comparison because back in my early 30s I got in pretty good shape and was running distance, 10 miles at a time. A good split for me was in the low 8s. Every once in a while I’d crank it up as fast as I could for a mile just to see what I could do. Low 7s. These women are running marathon splits almost 30% faster than I can sprint.

Guys who want to talk about male dominance want to cite that world-class men currently run faster than world-class women, and ‘the average man’ may currently run faster than ‘the average woman’. Interesting, but personally irrelevant. I am not those men. These women, in this particular field of physical accomplishment, are as far beyond this particular man right here as the hare is beyond the tortoise.

Yay them.

Leave a Reply!

