Here’s a course I wish I’d taken

by johnmccreery

I am not going to run on about it, just provide the link to one of the most thought-provoking articles on education that I have read in a long time. Looking forward to hearing what the Dykes, both junior and elder have to say about it.

4 Comments to “Here’s a course I wish I’d taken”

  1. Wow. This is just amazing stuff. I’d love to hear more about how students reacted to it.

  2. So would It. But what you see is what we’ve got. What makes it amazing to you?

  3. I love this. I actually taught contemporary world history kind of like this a couple semesters ago, and got good papers on corn syrup, maxi pads, and the NATO green bullet, among others. I’m now reinspired to develop the practice.

    The opening Haraway story is a knockout. Other highlights include the geeky pleasures of the Foucault / Deleuze references, along with the validation for the Borgesian thinking-otherwise project. And I’m totally going to steal the step of building the ignorance map. I think it’s great how it reframes a common source of student embarrassment and frustration as a nonjudgmentally fascinating thing to be curious about in its own right. It includes students in history and discourse in a potentially tranformative way.

  4. I thought you’d like that.

Leave a Reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

